Aston Villa’s Registered Squad for the Europa Conference League Comes up Short

Aston Villa’s Europa Conference League Squad Makeup

Before the September 4th deadline, Aston Villa submitted to UEFA a shorten principle squad list of 22 players for the Europa League Conference. Villa were only able to offer up Jacob Ramsay as a club trained player of the four required, meaning they had to forfeit three places in their 25-man List A allocation for each club trained player they failed to provide.

Clubs are allowed to submit two lists – an A list with eight further places reserved for locally trained players and then a B list of players born after 1 January 2002 and have been eligible to play for the club for a minimum of two years without interruption.

As part of the eight locally trained aka association players, at least four must be club trained, a player who has spent at least three years with the club between his 18th and 21st birthday. Clubs can also submit four association trained players, a player who has spent at least three years with the club of the same association between the age of 15 and 21.

Villa have five fit association trained players in Matty Cash, Calum Chambers, Ezri Konsa, Emi Martinez and Ollie Watkins, but only four can take up the spots. 

With both Tyrone Mings (another association class player) and Emi Buendia not included on the Villa’s squad list due to their long-term injuries, this mitigates any loss in real terms of the UEFA registered squad numbers, as Villa don’t have to players anyway to fill it out.

Nicolo Zaniolo, who was cup-tied for the Hibernian ties, due to earlier UEFA competition action with Galatasaray S.K., can now be part of Aston Villa’s European squad though.

Full Villa Europa Conference League squad 


Emiliano Martinez, Robin Olsen, Filip Marschall, Oliwer Zych, James Wright


Matty Cash, Diego Carlos, Ezri Konsa, Lucas Digne, Pau Torres, Alex Moreno, Calum Chambers, Clement Lenglet, Ben Chrisene, Sil Swinkels, Jayden Barber, Sebastian Revan, Josh Feeney, Aaron O’Reilly, Frankie Ealing, Finley Munroe


Douglas Luiz, John McGinn, Youri Tielemans, Bertrand Traore, Leander Dendoncker, Jacob Ramsey, Boubacar Kamara, Edward Rowe (B), Taylor-Jay Hart (B), Ajani Burchall (B), Tommi O’Reilly (B), Chisom Afoka (B), Travis Patterson (B), Kyrie Pierre (B), Kadan Young (B)

Forwards: Ollie Watkins, Moussa Diaby, Nicolo Zaniolo, Jhon Duran, Leon Bailey

List A players in bold, the rest are the List B.

Aston Villa’s Squad on UEFA’s site


Comments are closed.